Diamond Buying Guide

Anagha Diamonds Buying guide

Diamond Trivia:

  • Diamonds are the hardest material on earth: 58 times harder than anything else in nature.The average yield in most diamond mines is 1 part diamond to 1 million parts host rock.10 out of 10 in Mohs Hardness Diamond is the only gem composed of one single element: carbon.The 4Cs(Cut, Clarity, Color and Carat), created by GIA, are considered the global language of diamond quality.Larger diamonds of the same quality are worth more per carat. i.e. 1 carat costs more than 100 1 cent diamonds.Diamond color Grading starts from D to Z( colourless to light yellow colour).


 Terminology of Diamond:

  • Table: the flat head of the diamond
  • Girdle: the perimeter of the diamond from 1 corner to other seen from the top
  • Crown: the top portion of the diamond, from the girdle to the table
  • Pavilion: the depth of diamond from the girdle to the tip.
  • Culet: the bottom tip of the diamond


 Quality of the Diamond:

  • Every diamond is unique. A diamond cannot be compared to another diamond. Diamonds come in many sizes, shapes, colours, and with various characteristics.
  • All polished diamonds are valuable. That value is based on a combination of factors. Rarity is one of those factors. Diamonds with certain qualities are more rare—and more valuable—than diamonds that lack them.
  • Every diamond is individually evaluated on certain factors for its value. Jewellery professionals use a systematic way to evaluate and discuss these factors. 


4Cs of the Diamond:

  •  The principle of 4Cs has been given by the GIA( Gemological Institute of America Inc.) which are the Cut, Colour, Clarity and Carat. These 4Cs define the quality of the diamond. Diamond professionals have been using this grading system since the 1950s.


Shape of the Diamond:

Round: is by far the most popular choice. 75% of diamonds loved by the world are round. Due to its brilliance and light reflection, round diamonds have found their way to fashion jewellery from earrings to necklaces.

Anagha Shape

The shape of the diamond is based on the number of areas lighted and areas that are not lighted.



Anagha Diamonds

D is colorless And Z is light yellow in color

Colorless is more valuable than hazy / oily yellow color. 

Anagha Diamonds are categorized as G+ in color i.e. the Colors ranging from D to G. 



Diamonds have internal features, called inclusions, and surface irregularities, called blemishes. Together, give the clarity of the diamond. Clarity is absence of inclusions and blemishes.


FL is flawless, VVS is very very slightly included, VS indicates very slightly included, S indicated slightly included, and I is Included.


Blemishes and Inclusions impact the reflections and brilliance of the diamond as these irregularities do not reflect light making the diamond less attractive and shine. 


The clarity of Anagha Diamonds with weightage below 0.3 carats are categorized into single scale called VVS( instead of VVS1 AND VVS2) 




1 carat is 100 cents


A 1-carat diamond weighs the same as four 0.25-carat diamonds. But even if all the other quality factors are equal, the larger diamond is worth much more than the sum of the four smaller diamonds.